Phoenix Comicon Update


Phoenix Comicon is proud to announce that comic book artists and writers Mike Baron, Dennis Calero, Katie Cook, Gene Ha, Michael Golden, Konstantin Komardin, Tony Moore, James O’Barr, Wendy and Richard Pini, Chris Roberson and Renee Witterstaetter will be attending Comicon 2014.

Marketing Direcetor Jillian Squires says that, “It is a goal to continue bringing new comics guests year-after-year and we are very happy with this group for Phoenix Comicon 2014.”

Mike Baron is the creator of comic books Badger and Nexus. Published in 1981, Nexus, a superhero and science fiction genre comic book earned Baron two Eisner Awards and with penciler Steve Rude, six total Esiner Awards for their work on Nexus. Baron had also responsible for The Badger, Ginger Fox, Spyke, Feud, and many other comic book titles.

phxcc2014Dennis Calero is an American comic book artist and illustrator, known for his work on titles X-Factor, Legion of Superheroes and Kolchak. During his time working on Marvel Comics’ X-Factor, the title was nominated for the Harvey Award for Best New Series in 2006. In 2009 Dennis Calero received an honorable mention from the Society of Illustrators West for his work on X-Men Noir. Recently, Calero also begun illustrating a webcomic, The Little Green God of Agony for author Stephen King in the 2011 anthology, A Book of Horrors.

Katie Cook is an American comic artist and writer who is best know for her writing for My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. Cook has worked on licensed properties for DC and Marvel Comics and is also known for her webcomic, Gronk. She acted as writer behind issues $1-4 of the bestselling My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic comic.

Gene Ha is an American comics artist and writer best known for his work on books such as Top 10 and Top 10: The Forty-Niners. In 1999, Ha began illustrating Top Ten and would draw the series; twelve issues, which ran until 2001. In 1994, he was awarded the Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award and has also won four Eisner Awards in 2000, 2001, 2006 and 2008.

Michael Golden is an American comic book artist and writer best known for his work on Marvel Comics’ The Micronauts. While his career started in 1977 working for DC Comics on titles Mister Miracle and Batman Family, Golden’s is widely known for his work with Marvel Comics in 1978’s Micronauts. Other notable titles he has work on at Marvel include Doctor Strange, Howard the Duck and Marvel Fanfare. In the 2000s, Golden would return to DC Comics and draw covers for Superman: The Man of Steel, Vigilante and others.

Tony Moore is an American comic book artist, whose work consists of notable horror and science fiction such as Fear Agent, The Exterminators and The Walking Dead. For his work on the first six issues of The Walking Dead, Moore was nominated for two Eisner Awards in 2004 and 2005.

Konstantin Komardin is an award-winning Russian sequential artist, graphic artist and animator known for his story, Siberian Dreams. His other works includes comics Agent Z, Sit-o-city, Gate of Alice, and Mechanics of Senses. He has also published Veles, Hacker, Max Cooler, Moulin Rouge and Timof for BD magazines. In 2003, Konstantin was awarded the Grand Prize for The Site of Polis at the Moscow Comics Festival.

James O’Barr is an American graphic artist best known for the graphic novel series, The Crow. O’Barr started working on The Crow in 1981 and after several years, the first book in the series was finally released in 1993. The book was adapted into the successful film of the same name in 1994. O’Barr was the second American to be awarded the "Storyteller Award" by the International Comic Festival. Fans will be able to see O’Barr’s new graphic novel, Sundown, which will be delivered through the digital medium of the iPhone and iPad.

Wendy and Richard Pini are a husband-and-wife team responsible for creating the well-known Elfquest series of comics, graphic novels and prose works. After Wendy and Richard married in 1972, she started a career as an illustrator, while he took a position at Boston’s Charles Hayden Planetarium. In 1978, Wendy launched Elfquest with Richard as co-writer and editor. Elfquest won the 1979 Ed Aprill Award for Best Independent Comic. In addition to Elfquest, Wendy Pini also created two graphic novels based on the TV series Beauty and the Beast and has adapted the Masque of the Red Death into both a graphic novel and web comic in 2007.

Chris Roberson is a science fiction author known in the comics world for his miniseries, Cinderella: From Fabletown With Love, which was released in 2009. Roberson has been a three-time finalist for the World Fantasy Award and twice for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. He won the Sidewise Award for Alternate History Long Form in 2009 for The Dragon’s Nine Sons.

Renee Witterstaetter is a writer, editor and publisher known for her work on DC Comics’ titles Silver Surfer and Conan the Barbarian as well as Conan Saga for Marvel Comics. She is also the author of "Dying for Action: The Life and Films of Jackie Chan," "The Art of the Barbarian" and "Nick Cardy: The Artist at War." Witterstaetter is currently the President of Little Eva Ink Publishing and Little Eva Ink Toys.

Phoenix Comicon is the signature pop culture experience of the southwest. Comicon is presenting guests and programming for hobbyists by attracting the top segments of the comics, anime, sci-fi, film, tv, and gaming industries. Entering its twelfth year, Phoenix Comicon is expected to draw over 65,000 attendees to its June 5-8, 2014 convention held at the Phoenix Convention Center and Hyatt Regency in Downtown Phoenix.

For more information, please go to

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply